Depression Doesn’t Exist

Stop. Don’t rage up on me. It isn’t an opinion, it’s a belief in some countries.

An estimated 121 million people around the world suffer from some form of depression.

That is a huge number of people out of which very few have the circumstances to reach out for medication and improve their mental health.

Now I’m gonna drop a bomb on you…

30% of the 121 people exist in France, Netherlands and USA.

But a whopping 36% of that population is concentrated in India.

Yes, the country of festivals and colors is the most depressed country.

Saying out loud that you are mentally unstable and would like help for it in a country like India is like coming out of the closet to your traditional grandparents who will say, “It’s just a phase”. Well, that is a taboo topic too in India.

What is worse is that sometimes “loving” parents will try and tell you that maybe you should try and be nice instead of having random outbursts. They will force you to mingle when you would rather be left alone with your thoughts because they think that it will “go away” if you distract yourself from it.

If there is rotten bread, you should throw it away because sticking it in the fridge and hoping it will be fresh again won’t do anything, but make matters worse.

Indians are happy people (the irony) who love living in the moment and having deep rooted issues that still trouble you doesn’t make sense sense to them.

But there is always progress of some kind even in the worst situations.

People are trying to make an effort to understand and help those in need and be more accepting about mental health wellness.

All we can hope for is that the belief that depression doesn’t exist slowly fades away.img_20170312_210935.jpg

 

 

 

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. As a person who went public about my mental health issues, sharing this stuff in india is definitely a bad idea unfortunately

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should be proud of your courage to get help! I’

      Liked by 2 people

      1. What were you saying? I only feel stupid about my courage though

        Like

  2. So tired of this as an opinion. Hopefully people will educate themselves.

    Like

  3. It may be that way for your parents, but I think your generation will make a difference. And that’s the important part!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this post. I’m clinically depressed, but most people wouldn’t know it. I use humor as a defense mechanism. There are many more of us than most people realize. I think it has a stigma attached to it in many places and that’s unfortunate. We didn’t choose to have this happen. I’ve been very open about it, but it’s probably easier here in the US. Not easy, but easier. My heart goes out to those who suffer a backlash for having the courage to share the fact that they have inner pain.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Please do get help if you have the slightest symptoms. Things are definitely getting better and people are more accepting now but the progress is slow. Hopefully the coming generations will have it better than us.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much for encouraging me but I have sought help. I have a psychologist, a psychiatrist and even a neurologist. I’ve even done clinical trials in Boston. I am one of the very lucky ones. I have a medical team looking after me. I can’t imagine what it would be like with no support. I’m here for anyone who needs someone to talk to. Sometimes it’s nice to talk to someone who understands.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

